"You lied": IL republicans react to Pritzker's signature on legislative maps

by WFCN News
by WFCN News

6/4/2021 | 5:26 p.m.

SPRINGFIELD - Illinois House Republicans are reacting after Governor JB Pritzker signed new legislative redistricting maps into law.

House Leader Jim Durkin (R-82nd District) issued a statement on Friday calling out the Governor...

"JB Pritzker promised to veto any maps drawn by legislators or politicians. Today, Governor Pritzker broke that promise, even though yesterday he told reporters he was undecided and hadn't reviewed the maps.

Governor Pritzker, you sold out. You sold out independence. You sold out Republicans. You sold out Democrats to the partisan Democrat machine, which has destroyed Illinois. But not only did you sell out, you lied."

The new Illinois House map, which can be viewed below, will divide our local area into three separate districts; 115, 116, 117, and 118.

Franklin and Williamson counties alone will be divided into three separate districts. The new Illinois Senate map will divide our region into two separate districts; 58 and 59.

The new Senate districts will be divided at the Franklin / Williamson County line.

The district boundaries also account for population changes in the state, particularly in the regions that saw the most population loss as recorded by U.S. Census’ American Community Survey.

The General Assembly Redistricting Act of 2021 (HB 2777), the Judicial Districts Act of 2021 (SB 642) and the Cook County Board of Review Redistricting Act of 2021 (SB 2661) take effect immediately.
Photo by
Copyright @2021WFCNProductions